New Store Hours

Monday: 10am - 7pm
Tuesday: 10am - 7pm
Wednesday: 10am - 7pm
Thursday: 10am - 7pm
Friday: 10am - 7pm
Saturday: 8am - 5pm
Sunday: 10am - 5pm

Hot, Windy, And Two First Time Winners At The Frederic Lions Bike Race

Neal Lundeen, Frederic, WI, men’s stock bike 65-69 age group winner
FREDERIC—Two first time winners emerged from the tough conditions at the 30th annual Frederic Lions Classic Bike Race, Sat. June 10.

Winds gusting close to 40 miles per hour, and temps nearing 90 degrees kept the course records unchallenged, but in the stock bike class, Joel Beskar, New Richmond, rode to the gold medal with a time of 1 hour, 10 minutes and 17 seconds, with the women’s division topped by Sharon Bredl, Stratford, covering the 26.4 mile course with a time of 1 hour, 32 minutes, 38 seconds. Both were first time racers at Frederic.

The TT bike division saw repeat winners from last year taking the titles. Notching his 7 win in that race was Tim Mulrooney, Minneapolis, MN, posting a time of 1:01:39 with last year’s women’s winner, Andrea Potyondy-Smith clocking in at 1:25:04.

This year a new Junior TT class was added for younger riders, and two winners emerged, Owen Lueck and Masyn Bredl-Hryndej, from Stratford. They both rode the 7-mile course under 41 minutes.

The TT race course, east and south of Frederic on Clam Falls Drive and CTH I, features 1,300 feet of climbing and is considered a challenging time trail course.

Local riders included Arthur Martin and Neal Lundeen.

Lions and Lioness Club members, Jim Meyer, Steve Tesch, and Roxanne White, along with local volunteers, Grant Burdick, Bob Rasmussen, Dave Dopkins, and Arthur Martin worked on the course for the 30th annual event. Proceeds are given to the various charitable programs the Lions support.

Complete results are available at:

Maysn Bredl-Hryndej, Stratford, WI, finishing the 7 mile Junior Time Trial

Chris Stevens, New Richmond, WI, setting the second fastest time of the day at 1:01:55, averaging just under 26 miles per hour over the 26.4 mile course

Cleve Petterson, Minneapolis, MN, on a full aerodynamic time trial bike, hoping to have an advantage in the windy conditions

Bob Frandsen, Rush City, MN, winner of the men’s stock bike 56-59 age group at 1:22:56

Women’s stock bike winner, Sharon Bredl, Stratford, WI

Submitted by the Polk County Tourism Council
Photo Credit: William Johnson

No comments:

Post a Comment